Can Vegans eat eggs?

The easier question to answer is not, “what can vegans eat”, but rather, what can’t they?

A vegan diet excludes animals and their byproducts. That means that vegans do not eat meat, poultry, fish, eggs, milk or other dairy products, or honey.

Vegans also do not eat products that contain animal-derived ingredients, even in small amounts. Some common animal ingredients that vegans watch out for inside other foods include:

Gelatin (prepared from collagen taken from animal body parts), which is used in many sweets, like fruit snacks, the frosting on Pop Tarts, Starbursts, and other confections.

Confectioner’s glaze, which is a sweet glaze that contains shellac, made from crushed bugs.

Egg wash on the outside of baked goods.

Natural flavors derived from chicken or dairy – as some crisps are found to have chicken in them!